8 Comments

Love her! I've only read a few pieces of her work, though. I read "The Poet X" first followed by "Clap When You Land." I recently bought "Family Lore" but I haven't started it yet. I love "The Poet X."

Expand full comment
author

Oh amazing, I haven’t yet read ‘Family Lore’ but I really feel like it will be a beautiful read, enjoy!! Thanks for offering into this space

Expand full comment

Listen to what she says about her poem: ‘Ode to Rat’ I think is the title. I think I found it on the poetry foundation website.

Expand full comment
author

Okok thank you!!! I read part of it but I'm gonna sit with it entirely today on your word alone!

Expand full comment

It’s a video on why she wrote it and what her professor had to say about.

Expand full comment
author

oh sweet, yes I'm gonna watch it thanks for recommending

Expand full comment

And I ADORE Márquez! It always takes me a while to get into it when I read his work, but then I remember why I'm drawn to his work and why he is one of my favourite authors.

Expand full comment

I was fortunate to attend a Black Girl Book Club event a few years ago with Elizabeth Acevedo as the guest of honour. It was my introduction to "The Poet X", my first novel-in-verse. I remember feeling like "With The Fire On High" is exactly the type of novel that pre-teen me would've got stuck into. I might need to re-read it in Baby Bleggs' honour 🥰

Expand full comment